A simple electric motor is composed of six parts, the armature or rotor, the switch, the brushes, the shaft, the field magnet and the DC power supply.

The coil of the electric motor rotates between two permanent magnets, where the magnetic coil poles, represented by magnets are attracted by the opposing poles of the fixed magnets. The coil rotates and takes these magnetic poles as close as possible baldor motors to each other, but when it reaches that position the current direction is reversed and then the poles that are facing begin to repel, continuing to propel the rotor. The two ends of each wire, which is a wire for each pole are welded in one terminal and each of the three terminals is connected to one of the switch boards.

The use of the commutator is to periodically change the current direction in the armature periodically twice each time to ensure that the torque always has the same clockwise direction and prevents the armature from being stopped in a balanced position. The reason it is necessary to switch the armature current is that the magnetic flux that is caused by a permanent magnet for simplicity.